"NOMIS is all about enabling outstanding talent to take on high-risk research."
- Georg Heinrich “Heini” Thyssen, NOMIS Founder
Home / News / Karl Deisseroth and Didier Fassin elected to American Philosophical Society

Karl Deisseroth and Didier Fassin elected to American Philosophical Society

NOMIS Awardees Karl Deisseroth and Didier Fassin have been elected to the prestigious American Philosophical Society.

Karl Deisseroth
Didier Fassin

The American Philosophical Society Welcomes New Members for 2022

The American Philosophical Society is pleased to welcome new Members elected to the Society in 2022. Election to the American Philosophical Society honors extraordinary accomplishments in all fields. The APS is unusual among learned societies because its Membership is composed of top scholars from a wide variety of academic disciplines.

The American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States, was founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of “promoting useful knowledge.”  The Society sustains its mission in four principal ways. It honors and engages distinguished scientists, humanists, social scientists, and leaders in civic and cultural affairs through elected membership and opportunities for interdisciplinary, intellectual fellowship, particularly in the semi-annual Meetings in Philadelphia.  It supports research and discovery through grants and fellowships, lectures, publications, prizes, exhibitions, and public education.  It serves scholars through a research library of some 13 million manuscripts and other collections internationally recognized for their enduring scholarly value. The American Philosophical Society’s current activities reflect the founder’s spirit of inquiry, provide a forum for the free exchange of ideas, and convey the conviction of its members that intellectual inquiry and critical thought are inherently in the public interest.

Early members included George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, and John Marshall.  The Russian Princess Dashkova, president of the Imperial Academy of Sciences of St. Petersburg, was elected in 1789 and was the Society’s first female member.  In the nineteenth century, John James Audubon, Robert Fulton, Charles Darwin, Thomas Edison, Maria Mitchell, and Louis Pasteur were among those elected.  Hans Bethe, Willa Cather, Marie Curie, Albert Einstein, John Hope Franklin, Robert Frost, George Marshall, Barbara McClintock, and Robert Merton hint at the scientific, humanistic, and public accomplishments of twentieth-century members.

Today the Society has 1,012 elected members, 847 resident members and 165 international members from more than two dozen foreign countries.  Only 5,783 members have been elected since 1743; the Society generally elects fewer than thirty resident members annually.  Since 1900, 269 members have received the Nobel Prize.

Lead photo: American Philosophical Society Museum in Philadelphia, US. (Photo: Miles Kennedy / EDITORIAL USE APPROVED; ©VISIT PHILADELPHIA®)


NOMIS Project(s)


NOMIS Researchers

James D. Wolfensohn Professor
École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, Institute for Advanced Study
D.H. Chen Professor of Bioengineering and of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Stanford Medicine
Send via Email
Share on Linkedin