NOMIS Awards

Researchers, explorers, pioneers—dedicated women and men on the frontiers of science and the humanities—are our inspiration. Their imagination and perseverance drive all progress, overcome all odds and build the future.

NOMIS Distinguished Scientist and Scholar Awards (NOMIS Awards) are presented to pioneering scientists and scholars who, through their innovative, groundbreaking research, have made a significant contribution to their respective fields and who inspire the world around them. Their bold ideas and unique approaches involve interdisciplinary collaboration and apply a broad range of methods, building bridges across the boundaries of disciplines. NOMIS Awards enable these exceptional, established scientists to continue exploring unconventional and uncharted research paths, thereby opening up new research fields and collaborations.

2021 NOMIS Distinguished Scientists

Catherine Dulac

Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, the Higgins Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology and the Lee and Ezpeleta Professor of Arts and Sciences

Harvard University

Robert Ewers

Professor of ecology

Imperial College London